Unity, strength, defiance, resistance

July 7, 2012 § Leave a comment

Our first look at Rèmy was an ultrasound at 11 weeks and 5 days. He was moving and my partner was so excited. With Rèmy growing inside me, I thought about him in every way, every moment of the day. For my partner, I think this was the first moment he realised what exactly was happening.

I had been interested in the Black Panther movement and the Polynesian Panthers were celebrating their 41st anniversary in central Auckland in early June. Rèmy kept raising his right arm in the ultrasound with what looked like a tiny fist. Just like the Black Panther salute. I loved that. I felt like my baby was strong and represented resilience. With our first miscarriage heavy on our minds and hearts, we were so invested in every little sign of hope.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Unity, strength, defiance, resistance at Losing Rèmy.

meta

